MY THOUGHTS ON 2013 & MORE IMPORTANTLY- MICKEY MOUSE

Only a good 24 days past due- but I’m finally onto making some resolutions for the New Year.

They say it’s better to call them ‘Life Changes’ instead of ‘Resolutions’ because you’re more apt to stick with them that way? Weird.

Well here it is- written in black and white- My ‘Life Changes’ for 2013:

I forbid myself from biting my nails. Horrible habit- although it does seem to keep stress at bay.

Get up an hour earlier- before the rest of my household & get a head start on the day

Donate blood 3-5 more times: Give the gift of life

No more speeding tickets! This one is a big challenge for me. I actually think I was born with a brick foot.

Change 10 everyday household products to ‘ALL NATURAL’- “Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, kill nothing but time”. My current favourites come from Canadian-company, Green Beaver http://www.greenbeaver.com

Be present with my son- less phone, less text- more him! Don’t get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life.

Limit television to 1 hour a day- limit Facebook/Twitter to 30 minutes a day. Being in PR- this is going to be a challenge. But there’s so many more productive things I can be doing- rather than being sucked into the social media vortex.

No swearing! So tacky. I don’t think I swear very much- but it’s not until you forbid yourself from using those nasty words after stubbing your toe, that you realize how often you do in fact, use them.

Focus on my faith- Learn to walk by Faith- not by sight. More church, more prayer- more hope.

Well, there you have it folks- I can’t back out of these now! So if you see me in passing, biting my nails- be sure to elbow me to stop.

On a new subject- just got back from Florida last week- what fabulous weather! A nice change considering the cold front we’re all getting here in Canada right now. Spent the week with my beloved Aunt at her place: visited the beach, spent some time shopping, & just took some time to ‘breathe’. Sometimes we get so caught up in ‘doing’- that we forget to just ‘exist’- just ‘breathe’.. just ‘be’.

398007_10200322659927941_332180915_n

3800_10200326835312323_1739559924_n

Couldn’t help but stop at Disneyworld- I mean, who goes to Florida without re-visiting their youth at Disney!? The place truly is amazing. There is no other place, where you can see infants & seniors- riding the same ride, singing the same tune, or enjoying the same scenery.

Some people said “well why waste your money taking Lane to Disney, he won’t remember it at that age”. Honestly- this saddens me. If every parent lived by that statement ‘they won’t remember it at that age’, then what a sad sad childhood your child would lead. How unstimulated would they be? It’s the little things that mold your children into the amazing-beings that you hope they will become. So what better way to inspire Laner than by showing him a little slice of magic- here on earth- Disney.

I want him to know to believe in the impossible- afterall, it all started with a mouse.

And most of all, in the wise words of Walt himself “If you can dream it, you can do it”

553101_10200322672848264_625528383_n

“Disneyland will never be completed. It will continue to grow as long as there is imagination left in this world” – Walt Disney

C – xox

Leave a Reply

